AI returns for Tegh Bahadur hockey

Mumbai, October 13 (PTI) The former Air champions have confirmed their participation in the 14th PMC Bank-All India Guru Tegh Bahadur Gold Cup Hockey Tournament, scheduled here on Sunday.

Air India, due to the unavailability of players, had skipped the tournament last year.

The sophisticated team, which reached the semifinals of the KD Singh Babu tournament in Lucknow earlier this month, will be willing to try to regain the title, which had won for the last time in 2015 when they defeated Army XI 3-1 in the final.

However, Indian Oil, the joint winners with South Central Railway last year, withdrew from the tournament due to the absence of key players currently in national service.

In addition to Air India, the other teams that would be in action include: South Central Railway, Punjab National Bank, Bhopal Hockey, Central Secretariat, Central Railway, Western Railway, Indian Navy and Union Bank of India.

The teams would be fighting for the first prize of Rs 2 lakh and the brilliant cup.

In addition, individual cash prizes of Rs 5,000 will be awarded each to the best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and emerging player of the tournament and player of the final.

Preliminary groupings: Group A: National Bank of Punjab, Air India, Central Railway, Union Bank of India. Group B: South Central Railway, Indian Navy, Western Railway, Bhopal Hockey, Central Secretariat.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.