Alex Hales signs for Rangpur Riders for next BPL season

Alex Hales has signed up for the BPL Rangpur Riders franchise for the 2018-19 season, confirmed CEO Ishtiaque Sadeque. Hales became the first of the two signers of Riders outside the draft, apart from his four retained players Chris Gayle, Mashrafe Mortaza, Nazmul Islam and Mohammad Mithun.

Hales' agreement with Riders is interesting given that he had pulled out of England's 2016 tour of Bangladesh, citing the fear of safety, along with Eoin Morgan. There were some criticisms of the duo, especially because the tour went without incident.

The BPL is scheduled to be held in Dhaka, Chittagong and Sylhet starting in early January, clashing with the Big Bash League in Australia and the EAU T20x

Hales tournament, who played for Sunrisers Hyderabad on the IPL of this year, he will meet with coach Tom Moody, who led the Riders to his first BPL title last year. The pilots will fill the rest of their squad during the October 25 players draft.

Meanwhile, the owners of the Chittagong Vikings, the DBL Group confirmed their participation in the BPL this week after they reportedly threatened to withdraw from the competition. But on October 4 they announced Luke Ronchi, Sikandar Raza, Najibullah Zadran and Sunzamul Islam as their four players held


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.