Chamari Atapattu returns to lead Sri Lanka women for India series

Chamari Atapattu has once again led the squad of 15 women from Sri Lanka for the three matches of the Women's Championship against India starting on September 11 in Galle.

Atapattu, the team's most prolific hitter, missed the team's previous international job: the Asia T20 Cup in June – with dengue, but has since recovered and presented in a full season of the Women's League for Yorkshire Diamonds .

Among the new faces, batter Imalka Mendis has returned to the ODI team for the first time in more than two years, while the coaches have also retained Kavisha Dilhari, who made his ODI debut against Pakistan.

Overall, the coaches have retained 10 players from the 2017 Sri Lankan World Cup campaign, showing their drive for continuity as they build towards the next four-year cycle under new coach Harsha de Silva. The former first-class cricketer was named in a two-year contract last month after the resignation of Hemantha Devapriya.

Sri Lanka is currently in eighth place and does not win in six matches of the Women's Championship against Pakistan and the Antilles. Now they have lost 12 of their last 13 ODI, a streak that dates back to the World Cup last year. India, second runner-up in that tournament, is currently sixth, having won two of its six matches.

Galle will receive the first two ODIs, on September 11 and 13, before the series moves to the Moors Cricket Club on the outskirts. of Colombo for the final match of September 16. The teams will play five T20I to complete the tour.

Sri Lanka Squadron: Chamari Attapattu (captain), Prasadani Weerakkody, Anushka Sanjeewani, Nipuni Hansika, Hasini Perera, Dilani Manodara, Shashikala Siriwardena, Nilakshi De Silva, Imalka Mendis, Sripalee Weerakkodi, Sugandika Kumari , Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhini, Ama Kanchana, Kavisha Dilhari


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.