Chris Gayle, Eoin Morgan, Rashid Khan among overseas marquee picks for Mzansi Super League

Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dane Vilas and David Miller have secured million-rand contracts in the player draft for the upcoming MZansi Super League, the new South African league based at T20. All were selected in the first round, as the six teams had already been assigned to lead the Protea players last week and then selected their international players in a mini-draft before the main event.

Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Eoin Morgan, Dawid Malan, Jason Roy and Rashid Khan formed the international team. However, all will be absent during a part of the tournament, having also registered in the T10 League of Abu Dhabi that will run from November 23 to December 2, just in the middle of the month of MSL, which begins on November 16 and ends. on December 16.

With the regulations of the MSL tournaments stipulating that each team must include a minimum of three foreign players (including international players), three players hired at the national level (including the assigned Proteas) and a minimum of one national rookie, Most teams chose to build their squads in a similar way to those seen in national franchises, with some exceptions.

There were some surprises among those that did not sell, such as Dwayne Smith, Lendl Simmons, Brendan Taylor, Rilee Rossouw, Sam Billings, Shoaib Malik, Marlon Samuels and Mohammad Irfan. Wayne Parnell and David Wiese could have gone to Durban Heat and Paarl Rocks respectively, but the draft had approved their reserve prices before the teams submitted failed offers.

Jozi Stars : Kagiso Rabada, Chris Gayle, Dane Vilas, Rassie van der Dussen, Dan Christian, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Dwaine Pretorius , Eddie Leie, Pite van Biljon, Duanne Olivier, Ryan Rickelton, Sinethemba Qeshile, Simon Harmer, Calvin Savage, Alfred Mothoa

Based on the Wanderers, the Jozi Stars bowling lineup will be headed by Kagiso Rabada. The stars have also secured the services of Chris Gayle as their international marquee player. Although Gayle may be at the end of his career, his ability for six strokes will be very useful under Highveld conditions at home.

Durban Heat : Hashim Amla, Rashid Khan, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Kyle Abbott, Keshav Maharaj, Khaya Zondo, Albie Morkel, Marchant de Lange, Vernon Philander, Brandon Mavuta, Temba Bavuma, Morne van Wyk, Okuhle Cele, Sarel Erwee, Tladi Bokako

. -above. They have Hashim Amla and David Miller, who play their franchise cricket for the Dolphins and have a proven performance at Kingsmead. The Heat already have their spin options in order, having chosen Rashid Khan and Keshav Maharaj in the draft. In fact, Rashid was the first choice of the day and had a cost of R 1,000,000 (USD 70,000 approx.).

Cape Town Blitz : Quinton de Kock, Dawid Malan, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Samuel Badree, Asif Ali, Farhaan Behardien, Anrich Nortje, Janneman Malan, Malusi Siboto, George Linde, Ferisco Adams, Jason Smith, Sibonelo Makhanya, Kyle Verreynne, Dane Piedt.

Cape Town Blitz will build on Newlands, and the core of their bowling attack will be Dale Steyn, Andile Phehlukwayo and Samuel Badree. Coach Ashwell Prince suggested that Blitz make his choices considering the availability of players, and as such opted for Dawid Malan of England as his international player.

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants : Imran Tahir, Jason Roy, Chris Morris, Jon-Jon Smuts, Junior Dala, Christiaan Jonker, Aaron Phangiso, Ben Duckett, Sisanda Magala, Ryan McLaren, Heino Kuhn, Marco Marais, Dyllan Matthews (novice), Lizaad Williams, Rudi Second, Carmi le Roux

St. George's Park is one of the smaller grounds that will house a team in the MSL, with a capacity of 19,000, but will have one of the most veteran cricket activists of the T20 in his team: Imran Tahir, the player of the Giants in South Africa. They have also secured the services of Jason Roy. JJ Smuts, who is a local from the Eastern Cape and plays his home cricket for the Warriors, has been chosen as captain.

Paarl Rocks : Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dane Paterson, Aiden Markram, Mosehle Mangaliso, Bjorn Fortuin, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Grant Thomson, Paul Stirling, Tshepo Moreki, Henry Davids, Cameron Delport, Eathan Bosch, Patrick Kruger, Kerwin Mungroo.

Boland Park, the land that will house Paarl Rocks, is even smaller than the San Jorge park, with a capacity of 10,000. But the universities in the area mean that limited cricket during the day and night is generally very well attended, and the terrain is truly picturesque. Undoubtedly, students will enjoy some celebratory dance movements from Dwayne Bravo and Tabraiz Shamsi, who will play for the Rocks, as will Faf du Plessis.

Tshwane Spartans : AB de Villiers, Eoin Morgan, Lungi Ngidi, Robbie Frylinck, Jeevan Mendis, Theunis de Bruyn, Rory Kleinveldt, Sean Williams, Gihahn Cloete, Lutho Sipamla, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar , Andrew Birch, Sikandar Raza, Shaun von Berg, Eleded Hawk.

Tshwane Spartans crucially secured AB de Villiers as their South African player before the draft began, and the races could flow in SuperSport Park while their mid-range order is shaping up to be one of the most fearsome in the competition. Eoin Morgan is his international marquee player, while Jeevan Mendis completes the lower middle order. Lungi Ngidi and Robbie Frylinck will lead with the ball.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.