Dhawan left out of India

Shikhar Dhawan and Karun Nair have been eliminated from the Indian team that will play the West Indies in a series of two-game events starting on October 4. This means that it is likely that India will participate with another new opening combination with one of Mayank Agarwal or Prithvi Shaw will make their Test debut when they go along with KL Rahul in Rajkot next week.

Indian Test Squad for the West Indies Series © ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Virat Kohli will return to Captain India after a three-week break. You will have to make do with many of the team's first-choice bowlers not available. Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have rested. Ishant Sharma, who suffered an ankle injury during the Oval Test earlier this month, and Hardik Pandya, who suffered a stress fracture in the Asian Cup, were not considered for the selection. In his absence, Mohammed Siraj was called to the side of the Test for the first time. The 24-year-old Marisca from Hyderabad is in top form and has collected 40 fields in nine first-class matches, including an 11-under Australia A.

The Dhawan ax came in the back of a poor series in England, where he achieved a maximum score of only 44 in eight innings. Meanwhile, Nair could never play in any of the five tests, and as happened in the final in the Oval, he seems to have lost in a race with backup hitter Hanuma Vihari.

With India's need to open, Agarwal finally got his reward for a prolific 2017-18 season in which he scored 2253 runs in 36 entries in all formats. The 27-year-old from Karnataka was also a constant interpreter for team A, both on tour in England and at home, when he played against Australia A and South Africa A. He also scored 90 of 111 deliveries against the West Indians in the early warming game Saturday.

© ESPNcricinfo Ltd

R Ashwin, who recently had problems with a hip injury, will lead India's spinning attack again, along with Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav and Shardul Thakur complete the resources of fast bowling. Ajinkya Rahane, who has only two half centuries in his last ten innings, remains vice captain, while Rishabh Pant, who became the first Indian wicketkeeper to score a hundred in England, retained the gloves.

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

source:- espncricinfo.com

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.