Joe Denly claims PCA Players

Sophie Ecclestone, Joe Denly and Ollie Pope pose with their PCA awards © Getty Images

Joe Denly of Kent has completed a good season in all formats, at the end of which he won an England retreat after eight years outside the configuration, when being named Player of the Year of the Cricketers Players Association (PCA). Denly also won the Vitality Blast and Royal London Cup awards at the PCA end-of-season party at the Roundhouse in Camden.

Nominated with teammate Kent, Matt Henry, and Surrey pair Rory Burns and Rikki Clarke, Denly got the most votes from his teammates after a season in which he scored 1729 runs, besides taking 57 windows with his last blow of flower. Last week, he was named the PCA Most Valuable Player, a prize worth £ 10,000.

"Being here tonight and being the NatWest PCA Player of the Year Player is a very proud day and the highest award in national cricket," said Denly. "It's been a very nice 12 months, that's for sure.

"The last couple of years is about enjoying cricket and having a good understanding of what works for me and what does not, and really sticking to that and enjoying it.

"Play against fantastic cricketers over the years and be recognized for your contribution to your team, and what you achieved in that year is something very special and something to be proud of."

Ollie Pope, who made his test debut during the summer and won 986 races for the Surrey Championship winners, was the PCA Young Player award winner, while spinner Sophie Ecclestone was named Summer Player after taking 20 land. Through six ODI appearances and five T20 appearances for England.

"It's a special year, either to receive my call or, more importantly, to win the Championship and contribute to that successful side," said Pope. "Obviously it's an exciting time for county cricket and this country in general.

"It's incredibly special and this makes it even more special, coming from the players we play with is incredible."

Ecclestone, who made her England debut in 2016 at the age of 17, was previously named on the team to the T20 Women's World Cup next month.

"I'm very proud of myself," he said. "Now, being on the big stage with all the girls is obviously amazing, my family has worked very hard for me and I've worked hard for myself, over an amazing year, and it's very special to know they recognize what I'm doing." . I've done it too, so it's very nice. "

For the second year in a row, James Anderson was the Test Player of the Summer in England, while Jos Buttler, who was absent from the squad of limited shots in Sri Lanka, received the one-day player award. The sailor of Lancashire, Tom Bailey, won the Player of the Year in the Championship, with Denly claiming the double of the white ball.

Burns, who along with Denly and Pope won the national squad for England's test squad for Sri Lanka, was named captain of the Greene King Team of the Year, selected through the PCA MVP standings. The retired gardener of the Lord, Mick Hunt, received the ECB Special Prize for his 49 years of service in the Cricket Home.

David Leatherdale, CEO of PCA, said: "The NatWest PCA Awards of 2018 are an appropriate end to what has been an exceptional summer of cricket, with Eoin Morgan leading England to the domination of the cue ball, Joe Root takes England With a 4-1 victory over India and Heather Knight, who leads a clean sweep of summer series, the national teams are in excellent shape.

"All this is supported by a successful domestic structure and I would like to congratulate Hampshire, Worcestershire and Surrey for their titles and Warwickshire and Kent for achieving the promotion.

"However, tonight is about defending the best individual players throughout the season and I would like to congratulate all the winners tonight." There is no greater praise than being voted by all of your teammates and your classmates".

Team Greene King of the year: Rory Burns (Surrey, capt), Alex Davies (Lancashire), Joe Denly (Kent), Ian Bell (Warwickshire / Birmingham Bears), James Vince (Hampshire), Moeen Ali ( Worcestershire), Dane Vilas (Lancashire, week), Rikki Clarke (Surrey), Ed Barnard (Worcestershire), Matt Henry (Kent), Morne Morkel (Surrey)

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.