Paine names Finch, Head, Labuschagne for debuts

Travis Head plays with the back foot © Getty Images

Australia captain Tim Paine will enter his first test since the fateful South Africa tour with three debutants, Aaron Finch, Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne, in the place of the forbidden trio of Steven Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft, all suspended by Cricket Australia for its part in the Newlands ball-handling scandal.

He also confirmed that new vice-captain Mitchell Marsh and his brother Shaun will be batting in key positions 3 and 4, reflecting their roles in the Western Australian team trained by Justin Langer for five seasons before their elevation to replace Darren Lehmann , who also resigned following Newlands, as coach of Australia.

Among the bowlers, the highly experienced Peter Siddle was preferred before the fourth rookie in Michael Neser, with the Victorian and the left New South Wales goalkeeper, Mitchell Starc, forming a strong pairing to work with the players of bowling Nathan Lyon and Jon Holland. who did most of the heavy lifting in Australia's only heating accessory.

XI of Australia 1 Aaron Finch, 2 Usman Khawaja, 3 Mitchell Marsh, 4 Shaun Marsh, 5 Travis Head, 6 Marnus Labuschagne, 7 Tim Paine (capt & wk), 8 Mitchell Starc, 9 Nathan Lyon, 10 Peter Siddle, 11 Jon Holland

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.