Rahane, Ashwin and Karthik to play Deodhar Trophy

Dinesh Karthik, who was expelled from the ODI Indian team to face the West Indies, was named captain of the India A team for the Deodhar Trophy that starts in Delhi on October 23. He leads a team that includes an attack against starting pitcher Prithvi Shaw, runner R Ashwin, hitter Karun Nair and almighty Krunal Pandya.

Normally, the Deodhar Trophy would also include the winner of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. But just seven months from the World Cup, this edition will be played between India A, India B and India C so that the selectors can reaffirm the set of likely to travel to England next year.

Ajinkya Rahane will lead India C, where he will have Suresh Raina and Shubman Gill as company. He is also part of the 14-member squad that is Washington Sundar, who injured his ankle in June on the India tour of the United Kingdom. The 19-year-old recently returned to play cricket, collecting four winners in three games for Tamil Nadu in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Shreyas Iyer will captain India B, which includes Mayank Agarwal, the Karnataka starter who remains uncovered despite being called to India's test squad. Most of his firepower seems to be in the bowling department. They have a spinner in Deepak Chahar, a quick left arm in Jaydev Unadkat for variation and Aaron Varun for absolute rhythm. Also part of the list is Legpin Mayank Markande. The 20-year-old had a successful IPL debut season in 2018, collecting 15 tickets in 14 tickets at an economic rate of 8.3. Since then, he has also been chosen to play for India A in a day's cricket.

India A : Dinesh Karthik (capt & wk), Prithvi Shaw, Anmolpreet Singh, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ankit Bawne, Nitish Frog, Karun Nair, Krunal Pandya, R Ashwin, Shreyas Gopal, S. Mulani , Mohammed Siraj, Dhawal Kulkarni, Siddarth Kaul

India B : Shankas Iyer (capt), Mayank Agarwal, Ritu PS Chopra, Hanuma Vihari, Manoj Tiwary, Ankush Bains (week), Rohit Rayudu, K Gowtham, Mayank Markande, Shahbaz Nadeem, Deepak Chahar, Aaron Varun, Jaydev Unadkat

India C

capt) AbhinavMukundShubmanGillRSamarthSureshRainaSuryakumarYadavIshanKishan (WK) VijayShankarWashingtonSundarRahulChaharPappuRoyNavdeepSainiRajneeshGurbaniUmarNazir

source:- espncricinfo.com

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.