Rohit, Parthiv, Vijay picked for Australia Tests; Pandya still unfit

© Getty Images

Rohit Sharma, M Vijay and Parthiv Patel have been removed from the Test series in Australia in December and January. Prithvi Shaw, who shone with a century of debut in the Test, was chosen as one of the starters apart from Vijay and KL Rahul, and the attack rhythm returned to its maximum strength of Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Umesh. Yadav

Allrounder Hardik Pandya, who had suffered a back injury during the Asian Cup, "had not fully recovered" for the test series, according to head of selection MSK Prasad. "We feel that the nature of Rohit's game, a very good back-foot player, is right for Australia," Prasad said. "M Vijay had been expelled from England, but he returned to the counties and introduced himself and showed his intention."

Hanuma Vihari, who received controversially his test debut in England ahead of Karun Nair, was retained while Mayank Agarwal was withdrawn after being chosen for the two Tests at home against the West Indies, but did not get a game. There was still no place for Nair in the team of 18. Vihari recently scored three consecutive middle centuries, two for India B in the Deodhar Trophy and one for Andhra, in one day national games and also counts as a bowling option with his shoots

The selectors chose the usual turn attack of R Ashwin and Kuldeep Yadav, in addition to Ravindra Jadeja.

Both Rohit and Parthiv had played two of the three races each in South Africa earlier this year. While Rohit was later knocked down by his bad shape with the bat, for a total of 78 runs in four innings in South Africa, Parthiv was eliminated not only for lack of runs (56 runs in four innings) but for dropping several sacks while it stayed. Chosen as the second motorcycle maintenance option, apart from Rishabh Pant, it is unlikely that Parthiv would have been called if Wriddhiman Saha had been fit for the series of tests.

Vijay, on the other hand, played the first two Tests in England, but for only 26 races in total, including a pair in Lord & # 39; s, before he was removed from the tour. Very soon, he represented Essex in the County Championship and impressed with scores of 80, 2, 85, 56 and 100, a century in a chase of 282. He could not impress so much in the Vijay Hazare Trophy in his country, but in his career. The first class form was enough for him to be selected for the exams.

Bhuvneshwar and Bumrah had been rested from the Tests against the West Indies and were returned, as was Ishant, who did not play against the West Indies after injuring an ankle during the Oval Test.

The test team will fly to Australia on November 16 to play a warm-up game that will begin on the 28th before the four-test series begins on December 6 in Adelaide.

Agarwal, however, found a place in the first squad of India A that will play the first of the three matches in New Zealand. Prasad said the accessory would act as a warm-up before the Australia Tests as it also includes Vijay, Shaw, Vihari, Rohit, Ajinkya Rahane (captain) and Parthiv, among others, from the test squad. Nair was named captain of a different A squadron that would play the two remaining first class matches in New Zealand; The team also featured Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, Ishan Kishan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Siraj and others. The three four-day matches in New Zealand will be played in Mount Maunganui, Hamilton and Whangarei.

Test Squad : Virat Kohli (capt), Vijay M, Rahul KL, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-capt), Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Parthiv Patel, R Ashwin , Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

A team for the first game in New Zealand : M Vijay, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane (capt), Parthiv Patel (week), K Gowtham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Rajneesh Gurbani, Vijay Shankar, KS Bharat

A team for the second and third matches in New Zealand : Abhimanyu Easwaran, Mayank Agarwal, R Samarth, Karun Nair (capt), Ankit Bawne, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan , K Gowtham, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Rajneesh Gurbani

More to follow …

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.