South Africa leave out Steyn and bowl

Release South Africa chose bowl v Zimbabwe

The wait for Dale Steyn's return to the cue ball cricket continued as they left him out of South Africa's 11th for his first one-day international match against Zimbabwe in Kimberley, where backup captain JP Duminy won the draw and decided to play. Allrounder Christiaan Jonker received an ODI debut, and will seek to transfer his T20 skills to one-day cricket, while Imran Tahir also returned after having rested for the Sri Lankan tour.

The idea behind Duminy's decision was that a little grass cover and some morning moisture on the surface can make it difficult for batters in the first hour, before the strip is good for hitting the ball. late. Duminy also noted that, historically, Kimberley favored the batting team in second place.

Lungi Ngidi and Kagiso Rabada will share the new ball for South Africa, while Dean Elgar had the opportunity to add all six ODIs he has played for the team. the national side, and it should be placed at the top of the order.

For South Africa, this game marked the beginning of its starting season, and the beginning of its preparations for the 2019 World Cup. In that sense, Duminy, who holds the post of captain while Faf du Plessis recovers from A shoulder injury, he felt that replicating his style of play from the recent tour of Sri Lanka would be "crucial for us."

A little uneven Gardeners could make diving and fielding difficult, while the strong breeze blowing on the ground will also play a role during the day.

"We believe that if we play better in the day we can win," said Zimbabwe coach Lalchand Rajput. the beginning of the game. "In cricket, anything can happen, the first and most important thing is the mentality, you have to have a positive mentality."

South Africa 1 Dean Elgar, 2 Aiden Markram, 3 Reeza Hendricks, JP Duminy (capt), Heinrich Klaasen (week), Christiaan Jonker, Willem Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Lungi Ngidi

Zimbabwe Solomon Look, Hamilton Masakadza (capt), Brendan Taylor (wk), Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, PJ Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Brandon Mavuta, Kyle Jarvis, Wellington Masakadza, Tendai Chatara [19659012]


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.