Vihari the difference as another spin-choke takes India B to final

India B 231 for 9 (Vihari 76, Gurbani 3-38, Roy 3-45) beat India C 201 (Suryakumar 39, Gill 36, Gowtham 3-40, Tiwary 3- 44) for 30 races

Hanuma Vihari works on the side of the leg Getty Images

Hanuma Vihari reached his third successive List Fifty and his second of the Deodhar Trophy to Indian life B to 231 for 9 before Its spinners smothered India C through the middlemen to record a comfortable victory of 30 races in Delhi. The result reserved India B's place in the final, which made the last group match between India A and India C a virtual semi-final.

Vihari came to the center with 47 for 2, after Rajneesh Gurbani sent starters Prashant Chopra and Mayank. Agarwal back. But it was not long before India C took control when captain Shreyas Iyer, Manoj Tiwary and Rohit Rayudu fell at a good price to leave the side placed precariously at 90 for 5. After Gurbani caused the damage early, the spinner of the left arm Pappu Roy, helped by Vijay Shankar, of medium rhythm, made his way through the intermediate stages, with Rayudu trapped behind 1 and Pappu representing Iyer and Tiwary.

Vihari and the salesman Ankush Bains sewed a position of 60 races, the highest of the party, to breathe Life in the entrances. After Bains was knocked down by Suresh Raina for 25, K Gowtham offered Vihari a hand with a 19-ball that included two sixes. But neither batter was able to continue and provide a final flourish, since Gowtham fell to Pappu in 39th place and Vihari fell to Gurbani by 76 in 45th. With India B facing the possibility of being fired within 50 overs, Jaydev Unadkat and Shahbaz Nadeem came together and put together an unbeaten 36-race stand that resulted in match definition.

However, things could have been different if at least one of the four batters in India C who crossed the 30s went on to get a more substantial score. But what was missing in an entry similar to the first was a contribution of Vihari type. It did not seem so bad for India C despite the early loss of R Samarth by a meticulous 5 as Ajinkya Rahane and Shubman Gill added 44, albeit at a leisurely pace. But once Rahane fell to Gowtham for a 61-ball 32, it triggered a cascading effect. Raina became the second victim of Gowtham, played bowling for only 1 and Gill fell to the part time of Tiwary by 36, since India C was reduced from 65 by 1 to 85 by 4.

The part-time spin played a very important role in Iyer broke the dismantling of India C, as another threatening association, this time between Shankar and Suryakumar Yadav who added 48 in 51 balls, who covered Shankar lbw with 34 balls 35. With 99 still needed to win, the spinners hardened loop, since Gowtham had caught Ishan Kishan for 5 and then Tiwary nailed the last nail with the Suryakumar gate for 39. Like Unadkat and Nadeem for India B, the ninth pair of Washington Sundar and Navdeep Saini they fought valiantly to add 36, but the required assembly rate was reached when India C retired for 201 in 49th place.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.