Virat Kohli finally wins a toss as India pick three spinners and bat

Toss India chose to bat v The West Indies



The former controller of India feels that the hosts should include three participants in Rajkot

After losing five pitches in a row, India captain Virat Kohli finally won one and opted to hit a pitch with fair grass coverage in the first Test against the West Indies in Rajkot. The hosts, who had already announced their XII on the eve of the game, a game of the previous years, chose three spinners with the left arm shooter Kuldeep Yadav getting the nod ahead of the fast bowler Shardul Thakur.

Prithvi Shaw, 18, who has been accumulating races in India A and Mumbai, became the youngest player to make his Test debut for India in more than a decade. Meanwhile, the West Indies delivered a debut to fast bowler Sherman Lewis, who had been recruited by the squad as a similar substitute for Alzarri Joseph. He had claimed eight windows for West Indies A against India A on a four-day trip to Beckenham in July of this year.

West Indies, who had already lost Kemar Roach (he had returned home due to a duel in the family) Exhausted by an ankle injury to his captain Jason Holder. Kraigg Brathwaite introduced himself as captain and said the West Indies were also looking to hit first. Sunil Ambris, who had 114 undefeated in 98 balls in the game of the Tour of the Indian Board's XI Tour in Vadodara, found a place in the middle order along with Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase and the evil-hitter Shane Dowrich.

In contrast to India, the West Indies chose only one frontline spinner in Devendra Bishoo.

India : 1 KL Rahul, 2 Prithvi Shaw, 3 Cheteshwar Pujara, 4 Virat Kohli (capt), 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 Rishabhhhant Pant (week), 7 R Ashwin, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 Umesh Yadav, 10 Mohammed Shami, 11 Kuldeep Yadav

West Indies : Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Kieran Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Roston Chase, Sunil Ambris, Shane Dowrich (week), Keemo Paul, Devendra Bishoo, Sherman Lewis, Shannon Gabriel


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.