White and Handscomb carry Victoria to JLT Cup title

Victory 274 (White 88, Sandhu 7-56) beat Tasmania 164 (Fekete 2-20, Coleman 2-27, Tremain 2-33) by 110 runs

A Compounding Cameron White's innings and the strong overall performance of captain Peter Handscomb have helped Victoria claim the JLT Cup title after defeating Tasmania for 110 races at the Junction Oval in Melbourne.

White made 88 of 96 balls at the top of the order and got good support from Handscomb, Marcus Harris and Travis Dean, as the home team scored 274 after winning the pitch and hitting first.

Victoria's spinners did the initial damage in the chase since Tasmania never came close.

White and Harris put together a solid opening position of 88 races in the best of the morning's batting conditions. White mixed power and stroke play with its trademark control. He hit four legs and four sixes before falling Gurinder Sandhu.

Handscomb took over and ran to 49 from 45 balls before falling into the 48th. Matthew Short provided a great cameo with 37 of 34 balls.

Sandhu launched a superb last to award only one race. He already had three windows and took four more in the final, including a hat-trick of the last three balls of the innings to finish with 7 of 56 in his 10 passes.

The wind really improved in the afternoon making the power hit harder for the Tasman hitters. Victoria was able to shoot down her spinners to protect the limits. Matthew Wade fell to Glenn Maxwell in the Powerplay. Fawad Ahmed forced a mistake by Ben McDermott while Jordan Silk cut the turn of Nic Maddison's left arm to Handscomb to leave the Tigers 3 for 72 on the 18.

When Andrew Fekete eliminated the semifinal heroes George Bailey and Simon Milenko the game was over. Handscomb finished with four catches behind the stumps and was named Player of the Match.

It was an extraordinary tournament for Victoria, who finished in fourth place after the five round robin games, having won only two of them. Under the old one-day Australian national system, Victoria would have missed the final of all together.

But with all six sides in the final under the new system devised this year, Victoria advanced beyond New South Wales in the first qualifying final after a wash, due to a slightly higher net racing rate.

Victoria was then the host of Western Australia, the best ranked and undefeated in the semifinals, and beat them generously before hosting the final against Tasmania, which had finished second in The Table Behind WA.

source:- espncricinfo.com

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.